1. Home
  2. Search Result
Business Lifestyle

The Lawrence School, Lovedale, Lovedale

  • 2010-09-01
  • 13,032
  • 1944
  • Share

The Lawrence School is an educational institution in Lovedale, located near Ootacamund, Tamil Nadu, India and named for its founder, Sir Henry Montgomery Lawrence.

Lawrence had mooted the idea about the establishment of a chain of schools with a view to provide education to the children of the deceased and serving soldiers and officers of the British army. Lawrence was himself killed in the Indian Mutiny, also called India’s First War of Independence. His dream took shape and four such schools, initially known as Lawrence Asylum, were established in different parts of India: the first two during his lifetime in the year 1847 at Sanawar, the second at Mount Abu in 1856; the third at Ootacamund in 1858 and the fourth in Ghora Gali, Murree in 1860, (Murree was then a part of undivided India, but became part of Pakistan after partition).

The Lawrence School is run as a public school, open to all, with forty percent of the seats reserved for the children of defence personnel. The school is neither elitist nor exclusive. Children are drawn from every region and community of India. Various scholarship schemes bring the chance of an education here to the less privileged. The children are raised in this universal atmosphere, where every creed, community and caste is accorded equal respect.

The Lawrence School rejects the artificial environment of the single sex school. Co-education is a cornerstone of our effort to breed an open community, free from discrimination, where many discover the fruits of a different experience. Together from childhood , inside and outside the classroom, boys and girls come to respect and be enriched by each others' judgments. Mixed company teaches us that there is always more than one approach to everything.


The Lawrence School, Lovedale, has a sprawling campus of 750 acres (3 km²). Lovedale, six kilometres (3.7 miles) from Ootacamund, located at a height of 7200 feet over sea level, slightly lower than the Dodabetta peak (altitude: 8000 feet), the highest peak of the Nilgiris mountain range.

The school campus is divided into Prep school (classes four to six), Junior school (classes seven and eight) and senior school (classes nine to 12). The classrooms and dormitories of the different schools are housed in their respective buildings. The girls are housed in the girl's school and are required to go to the respective schools for classes. Although the campus is huge, the built up area is only 45 acres (0.2 KM²).

Famous alumni

  • Arundhati Roy, author of Booker Prize winning novel The God of Small Things

  • Anjolie Ela Menon, artist (Padma Shri Award winner)

  • Akshaye Khanna, actor

  • Aanand Mahindra, Mahindra & Mahindra

  • K. Mani Chandy, Ph.D. - Simon Ramo Chair Professor and Professor of Computer Science, California Institute of Technology. Member of the United States National Academy of Engineering

  • Gul Panag, Miss India 1998

  • Shriya Kishore, Pantaloons Femina, Miss India Earth 2009

  • J.J. Chakola III, Silver Medalist, Doha Asian Games 2007

  • Roopa Satyan, Former Miss India (1974)

  • Vasan Parameswaran, Finance professional settled in North America.

About Author

Image Description
Wallace Mcgranahan
Member Since: Aug 27, 2017

Consectetur adipisicing elit sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliquaenim ad minimiamaci quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat.