A description of the ITIL Foundation training program

The core principles of IT practices needed for IT Service Management in an organisation can be learned only during an ITIL Foundation training program. In this program, aspirants are taught about terminology, structure and basic concepts of IT Infrastructure Library, which are necessary to increase business productivity.


At the initial stage, students are required to go through the foundation level. Here they obtain only a general level of awareness about concepts, terms and key elements across the ITIL service lifecycle. Links between various lifecycle stages, processes and contributions to service management are also explained to the aspirants. To clear this level, students need to give the ITIL foundation examination. Following this, if they wish to progress further to the intermediate level, they can do so.


Target group for the program


The following persons are best suited to attend the ITIL Foundation course:

·         IT professionals who wish to improve IT Service Management within their companies

·         IT professionals who already follow ITIL practices and want to update their skills

·         Business leaders and managers belonging to any domain


 How important is ITIL?


The uses of ITIL are vital to an organisation for many reasons. As implied above, it helps to align the use of IT services with strategic business objectives. Both business development and IT can now work hand-in-hand to determine the growth pattern of an organisation. There are a large number of IT service management processes, and it is the job of professionals trained on ITIL to determine which of these has/have to be used. Processes are analysed as per the different phases of ITIL, mentioned next.

Key phases of ITIL


There are five distinct phases of ITIL V3 service management. They are:


ITIL service strategy- The goal here is to create service-level requirements which can then be delivered to the service design phase. First it is determined which services will be offered to particular user communities. After defining these, the following step is to come up with important attributes for the service. Important service attributes are cost, security policies, performance, availability and time to deliver.


ITIL service design- Storage function plays an important role in this phase. As per service-level requirements, storage is required to make plans on how data storage requirements will be achieved. This phase results in a service design package which includes details on the end stage of the storage solution.


ITIL service transition- It is here that the service design package is put into operation. With proper change management and deployment principles in place, the storage function makes service desk level 1 and 2 teams. Service and technical documentation are also done here.


IT service operation and Continual Service Improvement- This team plans storage technology and technology upgrades. Operations are monitored and service improvements are supervised during Continual Service Improvement phase.    

Latest Articles

  • Supreme Court directive to benefit 18,000 MBA, MCA, BE students
    Supreme Court directive to benefit 18,000 MBA, MCA, BE students

    AHMEDBAD: The Supreme Court (SC) order giving directions to admit students who have not cleared thei. Read More

  • Breast Hair Removal Services by Dr. Rohit Batra
    Breast Hair Removal Services by Dr. Rohit Batra

    Hair on the breast is a natural phenomenon but it is an embarrassing problem. This problem can dev. Read More

  • The Scindia School, Gwalior
    The Scindia School, Gwalior

    The dream of a visionary "The Scindia School", dominates the city of Gwalior from its hill. Read More

  • 7 Professional Etiquette Tips You\'ve Probably Never Heard Before
    7 Professional Etiquette Tips You\'ve Probably Never Heard Before

    It\\\'s no secret that personal branding is becoming essential to succeed in the corporate world, an. Read More

  • What do you know about Dental Implants?
    What do you know about Dental Implants?

    Dental implant is a cosmetic procedure that has been around since 1960 and is used to replace damage. Read More

Latest Classified

    SINGLE & BULK TYPING PROJECTS AVAILABLE, CONTACT: 9244445444 Gleam technologies ISO 9001:2008 CERTIFIED COMPANY (Government Register Company) # 221, Thellai Nagar, Gandhi Nagar Post, (near) Neyv
  • Upcoming bank exams coaching centre in delhi
    INDOSS Institute is a leading institute and the only specialized institute imparting comprehensive training program to students preparing for Bank PO and clerical exams. INDOSS INSTITUTE BECO
  • Send SMS all over India at lowest prise only with SMSPack.net!
    Send SMS all over India at lowest prise only with SMSPack.net! India''s No.1 Premium SMS Sevice Provide. We offer Economical & reliable SMS solution in India SALE! Send SMS all over India at
  • data recovery training
    learn advance LAPTOP SERVICE TRAINING in 3 days DATA RECOVERY TRAINING logical and physical training in 2 days, MOBILE SERVICE TRAINING in 8 days. for more details contact on mobile no 91 98241
  • Clothing and Footwear
    Clean room is an enclosure that is typically used in manufacturing and scientific research organizations, that basically has low level of dust or environmental pollutants. Therefore, there are

Top Featured Institutes